May 18, 2024

Website about Jazz and Blues

Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2017 nominees announced

The nominees for the 2017 Parliamentary Jazz Awards have been announced and recognise a wide range of British jazz talent.

Taking place on 10 October the awards ceremony will be held at Pizza Express Live’s swish new Holborn venue, the first time the awards have taken place away from the House of Commons’ Terrace Pavilion, with the selection of nominees voted for by the public and the final short list selected by a panel of jazz industry experts, musicians and members of the All-Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group(APPJAG).

The nominees in the nine categories are:

Jazz Vocalist of the Year: Georgia Mancio; Cleveland Watkiss and Alice Zawadzki.

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year: Shabaka Hutchings; Jim Mullen and Tori Freestone.

Jazz Venue of the Year: Watermill Jazz Club; Jazz Re:Freshed; PizzaExpress Live and Scarborough Jazz Festival.

Jazz Media Award: Jazzwise Magazine; Kevin Le Gendre and Chris Phillips.

Jazz Education Award: Tomorrows Warriors; Jean Toussaint and Andrea Vicari.

Jazz Album of the Year: Dinosaur – Together, As OneShabaka Hutchings – Wisdom Of The Elders and Tim Garland – One.

Jazz Ensemble of the Year: Partikel; Phronesis and Binker & Moses.

Jazz Newcomer of the Year: Jacob Collier; Corrie Dick; Ezra Collective and Nérija.

Services to Jazz Award: Sue Edwards; Henry Lowther; Gary Crosby and Tony Dudley Evans.

The awards are organised by the APPJAG, co-chaired by Kelvin Hopkins MP and Lord Colwyn, and supported by Pizza Express Live in conjunction with Peroni.

Verified by MonsterInsights