June 17, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Omar Sosa & Yilian Canizares – Aguas 2018: Video

Pianist Omar Sosa and violinist-vocalist Yilian Cañizares have come together to create Aguas, a beautiful and very personal album.

Featuring their compatriot, percussionist Inor Sotolongo, Aguas reflects the perspectives of two generations of Cuban artists living outside their homeland, interpreting their roots and traditions in subtle and unique ways. Songs range from the poignant to the exuberant, and are expressive of the exceptional musical chemistry, poetic sensibilities, and originality of the artists. The material on Aguas is an inventive and engaging mix of the artists’ Afro-Cuban roots, Western classical music, and jazz. The album is dedicated to Water, and espe – cially to Oshun, the Goddess of Love and Mistress of Rivers in the Lucumí tradition of Yoruba ancestry known in Cuba as Santería a spiritual practice important to both artists. As water is synonymous with life, and energy, and strength, and space, the music of the album is inspired by the important influences of water – its hidden powers, its infinite transmutations, and its relentless creation. There is a sense, as well, for Omar and Yilian, of how water represents both sepa- ration from, and nostalgia for, the land of their birth. The 11 tracks on Aguas were written and produced by Omar and Yilian, and recorded and mixed at Artesuono Studios in Udine.


  1. Duo de Aguas
  2. Dos Bendiciones
  3. De La Habana y Otras Nostalgias
  4. Milonga
  5. O Le Le
  6. Sanzara
  7. Sonrisas de Ninos
  8. Oshun
  9. Se Van Los Mios
  10. La Respiracion
  11. D2 de Africa

Free regular download

Картинки по запросу Omar Sosa & Yilian Canizares - Aguas

Картинки по запросу Omar Sosa & Yilian Canizares - Aguas

Verified by MonsterInsights