May 29, 2024

Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Randy Brecker – Rocks 2019: Video, CD cover

This CD came to fruition after two successful tours featuring Randy Brecker fronting the NDR Bigband – The Hamburg Radio Jazz Orchestra. Arranger/Conductor Jörg Achim Keller handled works Randy composed from different periods of his career.

The tours were so well received that the “higher-ups” in the NDR organization gave the green light to record everything in a studio situation. Jörg’s idea was to have the original three-horn front line of the Brecker Brothers Band augmented by the NDR Bigband, with an extended woodwind section featuring double reeds such as oboe and bassoon, and extensive woodwind doubling like bass clarinets and flutes, etc. for coloring.

Original Brecker Brothers Band member alto saxophonist David Sanborn was brought in, along with Ada Rovatti on tenor and soprano saxophones, and world famous drummer Wolfgang Haffner. Ada Rovatti (Randy’s wife) has been a member of the Brecker Brothers Band Reunion since its inception, has had a successful recording career of her own, and has continued the tradition of ‘saxophonistic excellence’ in the Brecker family.

The end results are organic big band arrangements, which augment the concepts behind Brecker’s original compositions. Along with the other soloists – all regular members of the NDR Bigband – this CD is a spirited romp, one that will stand the test of time. Have fun listening, there is never a dull moment!

  1. First tune of the set
  2. Adina
  3. Squids
  4. Pastoral
  5. The dipshit
  6. Above and below
  7. Sozinho
  8. Rocks
  9. Threesome

Personnel: Randy Brecker: trumpet, flugelhorn; Dave Sanborn: alto saxophone; Ada Rovatti: tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone; Wolfgang Haffner: drums. NDR Bigband: Jörg Achim Keller:conductor; Thorsten Benkenstein, Ingolf Burkhardt, Claus Stötter, Reiner Winterschladen: trumpet; Fiete Felsch, Peter Bolte: alto saxophone, reeds; Frank Delle, Björn Berger: tenor saxophone, reeds; Edgar Herzog: baritone saxophone, reeds; Dan Gottshall, Sebastian Stanko, Klaus Heidenreich: trombones; Stefan Lottermann, Ingo Lahme: bass trombone, tuba; Christian Diener: electric bass, acoustic bass; Vladyslav Sendecki: keyboards; Bruno Müller: guitar; Marcio Doctor: percussion.

Картинки по запросу Randy Brecker - Rocks

Verified by MonsterInsights