July 20, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Charlie Ballantine – Reflections/Introspection: The Music of Thelonious Monk 2021: Video, CD cover

Charlie Ballantine is acclaimed as one of the finest and most versatile young guitarists on the scene today. 2021 brings Ballantine to new heights with his most compelling albums to date.

Reflections/Introspection: The Music of Thelonious Monk dives deep into previously untouched traditional elements as well as maintaining the modern aesthetic that has gained him widespread recognition. With the help of Amanda Gardier (sax), Chris Parker (drums), Cassius Goens III (drums), and Jesse Wittman (bass), Ballantine revitalizes Monk’s Blue Note period featuring re-cured versions of such gems as the album kick off, “Reflections,” “Ask Me Now,” and the title’s first focus track, “Brilliant Corners.” The aforementioned sports an alluring psychedelic video accompaniment of which Charlie says, “Basically I was thinking of how Monk might utilize a multi media scenario in today’s environment so that was all I gave the animation team and they immediately leaned into the abstract which I thought was perfect. It’s hard to nail down an aesthetic with his music so I think what they came up with represents him and his musical tradition perfectly in the modern era.”

01. Reflections
02. Bemsha Swing
03. Off Minor
04. Ugly Beauty
05. Raise Four
06. Bemsha Swing (Alternate Take)
07. Pannonica (Solo)
08. Brilliant Corners
09. Green Chimneys
10. Introspection
11. Evidence
12. Ask Me Now
13. Monk’s Dream
14. Brillian Corners (Alternate Take)
15. Let’s Cool One

Charlie Ballantine (guitar)
Amanda Gardier (sax)
Chris Parker (drums)
Jesse Wittman (bass)
Cassius Goens III (drums)

Reflections/Introspection: The Music of Thelonious Monk(CD) Preorder |  charlieballantine

Verified by MonsterInsights