June 15, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: David Larsen – Deviate from Standards 2021: Video, CD cover

David Larsen is a saxophonist, composer, and educator, serving as the director of instrumental studies at the lovely Spokane Falls Community College. A fine instrumentalist, Larsen is also an extraordinary and prolific composer winning awards every year for the past four years.

Deviate from Standards it’s primarily built around a modified old school style without the blazing brass section. Opening with A New Thing Comin’, David Larsen on tenor and bari sax leads the way, paired with Greg Yasinitsky on tenor and bari sax as well and backed by Kate Skinner on keys, Josh Skinner on bass and Brendan McMurphy on drums. With tasty soloing by David and Greg and a nice piano run by Ken, a solid opener. Smoke Screen is a driving jam with nice extended lead lines by Larsen and and Danny McCollim on keys as well as the the addition of McMurphy on trumpet and Nick Isherwood on bass. With it’s walking bass line by Skinner, He Who Getz The Last Laugh is a real cool track. Larsen sets a real nice statement with his fluid lines and rich tone and Skinner takes a few bars on bass solo really setting this off. Very nice. With a lot of swing, Into The Mild shows Larsen laying in some really meaty lead sax lines over the pouncing piano of Skinner. Stretching out over 7 minutes, Skinner and Larsen trade off the spotlight, punctuated by tidy drum riffs by McMurphy. Wrapping the release is Tensai with some of Larsen’s most aggressive playing on the release. Solid closer for a cool release.

1.A New Thing Comin’ 06:30
2.Smoke Screen 05:44
3.Augmented Reality 06:58
4.Family 05:16
5.He Who Getz the Last Laugh 06:00
6.See You at 8 06:38
7.Into the Light 05:24
8.Into the Mild 07:01
9.Tensai 07:02

David Larsen – Baritone & Tenor Saxophone
Brendan McMurphy – Trumpet, Flugelhorn, & Drums
Greg Yasinitsky – Tenor & Baritone Saxophone (1, 9)
Ken Peplowski – Clarinet (3)
Kate Skinner – Piano & Keyboards (1, 3, 5, 8, 9)
Danny McCollim – Keyboards (2, 4, 6, 7)
Josh Skinner – Bass (1, 3, 5, 8, 9)
Nick Isherwood – Bass (2, 4, 6, 7)

Deviate from Standards | David Larsen

Verified by MonsterInsights