July 12, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Antonio Adolfo – Octet And Originals 2022: Video, CD cover

With over two dozen albums as a leader and multiple Latin Grammy and Grammy nominations, pianist, arranger, composer, and bandleader ANTONIO ADOLFO is an internationally recognized Latin jazz star. More than 200 of his original compositions have been covered by artists like Sergio Mendes, Earl Klugh, Herb Alpert, Stevie Wonder, and Dionne Warwick.

Several of his albums pay tribute to great Brazilian and American jazz stars, like Antonio Carlos Jobim (Jobim Forever, 2021), Milton Nascimento (BruMa: Celebrating Milton Nascimento, 2020), Wayne Shorter (Hybrido: From Rio to Wayne Shorter, 2017) and Ernesto Nazareth (Antonio Adolfo Abraça Ernesto Nazareth, 1981), among others.

Although he often includes his own compositions on his recordings, Adolfo has now recorded an album that comprises only his original music. OCTET AND ORIGINALS is a brilliant showcase for the writing talents of an artist about whom jazz critic Travis Rogers has said, “Let me say it from the top, I can’t get enough of Antonio Adolfo. Every album, every song he has ever released is a treasure. Not only is Antonio a brilliant composer and pianist, he is also an arranger without peer.” Although several of the compositions have appeared on other Adolfo recordings, he has reimagined them for this new project.

Adolfo called the album OCTET AND ORIGINALS to highlight not only his compositions but also the stellar band. Adolfo says, “There is nothing better than being able to count on a group of wonderful musicians who have recorded with me on my most recent projects. They are all excellent, and I also dedicate this work to them.” The band features JESSÉ SADOC (trumpet and flugelhorn), DANILO SINNA (alto sax), MARCELO MARTINS (tenor sax and flute), RAFAEL ROCHA (trombone), JORGE HELDER (double bass), RAFAEL BARATA (drums and percussion), and RICARDO SILVEIRA (guitar).

A few of the tunes on OCTET AND ORIGINALS were originally conceived with lyrics; however, Adolfo rearranged them as instrumentals for this album. His arrangements touch on a panoply of Brazilian musical styles, including samba, baiao, bossa, partido alto, quadrilha, toada, calango, maracatu and more. Although rooted in Brazilian music, Adolfo’s elegant reharmonizations transform his compositions into jazz.

Antonio Adolfo is a Brazilian jazz master. Influenced by bebop, soul and West Coast jazz yet firmly rooted in the rhythmic, danceable styles of Brazil, Adolfo’s music has a polished opulence that is uniquely his own. The music on OCTET AND ORIGINALS is romantic, swinging, and toe-tapping with frequent unexpected turns that consistently keep the music fresh.

1. Heart of Brazil 5:39
2. Boogie Baião 4:41
3. Emaú 5:12
4. Cascavel 4:10
5. Pretty World 5:05
6. Teletema 5:58
7. Feito Em Casa 4:54
8. Minor Chord 5:26
9. Zabumbaia 5:46
10. Modern Toada 4:34

New CD – 2022 – Buy from here

Cover art for Octet and Originals

Verified by MonsterInsights