June 18, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Joe Abba – Check Hook 2022: Video, CD cover

Funk meets Jazz, meets Latin, meets World Music; this is the best way to describe Joe Abba’s debut album release. A fusion of all his musical, cultural, and life influences has finally come together in a perfect mixture.

Joe Abba summoned the talents of many of his musical colleagues, from many projects he is a member of, and albums he has recorded in the past. It features music of his own, as well as collaborations with some of his favorite composers. Add in a couple of rearrangements of some classic favorites, and you have “Check Hook.”

The title is based upon a punch in the sport of boxing, in which one steps to the side as one’s opponent rushes in and catches him with a hook that he never saw coming. Joe’s lifelong passion for the sport of boxing as well as jazz and improvisational music fuses together in the title track.

“The album title ‘Check Hook’ is not just a literal boxing move, but rather a metaphor for dealing with life and what comes your way. It’s not always how you handle the successes, but how you can bounce back in life from challenges and even failures.”

Joe continues, “The brutal art of boxing is a niche sport, while jazz and improvisational music is a niche genre in and of itself. I have always been attracted to things that weren’t always the most popular or mainstream. That speaks to something in my mind and has inspired me in countless ways in life.”

I love how these songs I wrote have become so much more than I could have imagined when I first began working on it. I love the product and am very proud of it, and the contributions from all of the amazing artists who performed breathe so much life into it. Currently, I am working on new material for my next album, which will likely be more of a jazz record. The musicians who play on my album are some of my best friends and the people I enjoy playing with the most. I could have hired a bunch of “heavyweights” but the music would not have the love that all of my friends bring it. They know this music; the know me as a person. That means more to me than any group of all stars. Also, I play in NYC, so the level of musicianship is top notch. I don’t need “big names” because everyone I play with is a monster musician, artist, and successful bandleader in their own right,- an interview with me sait Joe Abba.

01. The Locked Volcano
02. Check Hook
03. Cross Bronx Traffic
04. Love in a Pointed World
05. Para los Rumberos
06. Thinking Black
07. Rainbow Star
08. Facelifts on Mute
09. Watch Your Mouth!
10. WYM Epilogue

Joe Abba-Drums & Percussion Trifon Dimitrov-Electric Bass Gabe Cummins-Electric Guitar Adam Klipple-Piano and Keyboards (1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9) Eli Asher-Trumpet (1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8) Matt Hilgenberg-Trumpet (5, 9) Paul Tynan-Fluglehorn (4) Travis Sullivan-Alto Saxophone (2, 3, 5, 6) & Piano (4) Sean Nowell-Tenor Saxophone (1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9) Matt Garrison-Tenor Saxophone (8) & Baritone Saxophone (3, 5, 6) Eddie Torres-Percussion (1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 9) Memo Acevedo-Percussion (5, 8) Ibrahima Kolipe Camara-Djembe (8) Emily Fredrick-Violin (4) Doron Lev-Vocals (2,9) Peter Monaco-Words (9) 

New CD – 2022 – Buy from here

Check Hook | Joe Abba

Verified by MonsterInsights