July 12, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Graham Collier – Down Another Road – Stockholm Jazz Days ’69 – 2023: Video, CD cover

Previously unreleased recording of bassist/composer Graham Collier’s seminal British jazz album ‘Down Another Road’ recorded live in 1969 at Stockholm’s Jazz Day festival, his all-star sextet includes jazz heavyweights Harry Beckett, Stan Sulzmann, Karl Jenkins and John Marshall.

Since it’s release in 1969 on Fontana, ‘Down Another Road’ has become a cornerstone of British jazz, with the LP now a much sought-after rarity that regularly exchanges hands for over £200. It’s considered the revered composer Collier’s greatest album by many of its fans, thanks to its highly melodic, almost pop-like themes and irresistible ’60s groove, spurred on by the on-point drumming of Soft Machine/Nucleus drummer John Marshall.

To make ‘Down Another Road @ Stockholm Jazz Days ’69’ even more special, the abstract track “Danish Blue” has been replaced by the similarly epic free jazz composition “Burblings for Bob”, which is released here for the first time. All the other tracks that everyone loves are present and correct – “Lullaby for a Lonely Child”, “Aberdeen Angus”, “Molewrench” etc. but with a rawer live feel to them, longer arrangements and more soloing – with the band in scintillating form.

Remastered from the original tapes by Caspar Sutton-Jones @ Gearbox Records, ‘Down Another Road @ Stockholm Jazz Days ’69’ is available as a limited edition 2LP set housed in a gatefold sleeve and ‘mini-LP’ gatefold CD, with sleeve notes by Graham Collier biographer Duncan Heining.

1. Burblings for Bob (Live) (13:40)
2. Molewrench – Intro (Live) (0:14)
3. Molewrench (Live) (13:00)
4. Lullaby for a Lonely Child – Intro (Live) (0:12)
5. Lullaby for a Lonely Child (Live) (5:46)
6. Down Another Road – Intro (Live) (0:22)
7. Down Another Road (Live) (7:44)
8. The Barley Mow – Intro (Live) (0:31)
9. The Barley Mow (Live) (5:45)
10. Aberdeen Angus – Intro (Live) (0:13)
11. Aberdeen Angus (Live) (9:17)

Graham Collier: double bass
Harry Beckett: trumpet, flugelhorn
Nick Evans: trombone
Stan Sulzmann: tenor and alto saxophone
Karl Jenkins: oboe, piano
John Marshall: drums

Down Another Road @ Stockholm Jazz Days '69". Album of Graham Collier buy  or stream. | HIGHRESAUDIO

Verified by MonsterInsights