May 25, 2024

Website about Jazz and Blues

Joey Alexander – Eclipse 2018: Video

Three-time Grammy-nominated piano prodigy Joey Alexander is premiering the title track from his upcoming Eclipse album exclusively on Billboard.

The young artist’s musicianship and knowledge of jazz and classical fundamentals are embraced on this free, peaceful 10-minute track. He approached “Eclipse” with subtle sounds and delicate harmonies.

“After seeing the eclipse, I was inspired to compose something new,” the 14-year-old told Billboard. “It was a little intimidating to play those first notes, knowing it would be the only take. I was relieved after listening back in the control room. It’s what I really love, composing freely in the moment, listening and reacting to the band, creating something new and moving to another place.”

The Eclipse album was recorded during and inspired by the solar eclipse in August 2017. Its multi-dimensional sound ranges from classical jazz music to gospel, reinventing the popular 1875 hymn “Draw Me Nearer.”

Recorded in just over three days, the album includes features from saxophonist Joshua Redman and contributions from bassist Reuben Rogers and drummer Erick Harland.

At age 14, Alexander’s growth and elevation as a remarkable composer and artist truly shine through on his album. “This new album represents who I am, and I’m looking forward to bringing people on the journey,” Alexander said.

1 Bali
2 Faithful
3 Draw Me Nearer
4 Moment’s Notice
5 Blackbird
6 Eclipse
7 Fourteen
8 The Very Thought of You
9 Space
10 Time Remembered
11 Peace

Joey Alexander on Piano
Reuben Rogers on Bass
Eric Harland on Drums
Joshua Redman on Tenor Saxophone

Free regular download

Картинки по запросу Joey Alexander - Eclipse

Verified by MonsterInsights