July 13, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Jeff Denson, Romain Pilon and Brian Blade – Between Two Worlds: Video, CD cover

Bassist Jeff Denson recently shared a video featuring a track from his upcoming album, Between Two Worlds.

The tune starts with an impressive intro by drummer Brian Blade before the band kicks in. Later, Denson takes an equally impressive solo.

When these virtuoso players meet on the bandstand, the result is sheer magic. Join revered French guitarist Romain Pilon, powerhouse drummer Brian Blade and internationally acclaimed bassist, vocalist, and composer Jeff Denson as they celebrate their Ridgeway Records album Between Two Worlds (Release Date October 25, 2019). The recording features originals by Denson and Pilon, who met two decades ago as students at Boston’s Berklee College of Music. After graduation they pursued their own careers, but reunited occasionally to reclaim their musical camaraderie. When Denson played with Blade on a 2017 tour with Joel Harrison’s Spirit House, they clicked. “We deeply connected right away, from the first notes in the sound check,” says Denson. “It felt like kindred spirits, rhythmically; a whole other language was taking place behind the soloists, and it was totally enthralling.” Denson thought of Pilon as an ideal third partner. “He’s a virtuoso player but very sensitive and very musical, the same words I would use to describe Brian.” Denson extended an invitation to Pilon and Blade, who enthusiastically accepted. The result is one of the most captivating new groups in jazz, a trio of players with unmistakable chops, unquestionable creativity, and probing sensitivity.

01. Sucre
02. Song of a Solitary Crow
03. En Trois Temps
04. Generation
05. Nostalgic Farewell
06. Listen Up
07. Madrid
08. Lost and Found
09. Between Two Worlds
10. Azur

Jeff Denson – double bass
Romain Pilon – guitar
Brian Blade – drums

Image result for Jeff Denson, Romain Pilon & Brian Blade - Between Two Worlds

Verified by MonsterInsights