May 25, 2024

Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Luca Aletta & Flavio Emanuele Costantino Burtone – Land Works 2022: Video, CD cover

The best example of this talent is Land Works, released in 2022. Aletta, playing not only the piano, Flavio Emanuele Costantino Burtone – classical guitar.

Luca Aletta was born in Lentini (Syracuse) on March 3rd, 1984. He is pianist, composer, arranger and teacher. He started his career in classical studies guided by his teachers Alfio Sgalambro (theory) and Rossana Nastasi (piano), then he moved on to improvisation techniques and composition.

In October 2009, guided by his teacher Salvatore Bonafede, he graduated in jazz music (first level) at the “A. Scontrino” Conservatory of Trapani with 110/110 with honours. In April 2012, guided by his teachers Salvatore Bonafede, Lauro Rossi and Giancarlo Mazzù, he graduated in jazz music (second level) at the “A. Scontrino” Conservatory of Trapani with 110/110 with honours. In July 2021, guided by his teacher Mauro Schiavone, Luca graduated in jazz piano (second level) at the “A. Scontrino” Conservatory of Trapani with 110/110 with honours.

Luca has studied with many important musicians from the international jazz circuit (Stefano Bollani, Kenny Werner, Gianluigi Trovesi, Fabio Mariani, Rosario Giuliani, Mirko Guerrini, Pietro Tonolo, Silvia Bolognesi, Matteo Sabattini, Marco Panascia, etc) and he also won special prizes in many composition competitions. Luca has a discography composed by 22 CDs (13 as leader, 9 as sideman) and he also published 9 books of sheet music (7 of his original compositions), two piano teaching methods “La Tecnica Pianistica Numerica Vol. 1 and Vol. 2″ and a book of music harmony “Manuale di armonia moderna vol. 1″. His most important artistic collaborations are with: Nico Gori, Javier Girotto, Giuseppe Milici, Carlo Cattano, Fratelli Amato, Giovanni Di Mauro, Alfio Antico, Rita Botto, Michele Conti, etc. Luca has played in important International Jazz Festivals, such as: Sibiu, Ploiesti, Petrovac, etc.

As soon as I listened to the Land Works Trailer, I traveled with my musical memories. I immediately thought to the trio composed by Al Di Meola, Paco de Lucia, and John McLaughlin. We are not talking about a tribute piece. But when performances like this arrive in Land Works, the comparison starts involuntarily from the ear to magically open the emotional drawers of my memories. It may seem forced, but the connection with the great guitarist of Italian-American origins arises spontaneously.

Luca Aletta, on piano, is a real talent in the Sicilian music scene. Think that I have a CD of his, Land Works project with Flavio Emanuele Costantino Burtone, for which I cannot complete a review that can honor him.

For now, I just invite you to listen to this pill from his latest recording project. I am convinced that they will make us hear some very pleasant things … Land Works offers a musical party for all jazz lovers. A typically Italian passion is combined with experiments on the “well-tempered” piano  and classical guitar.

1. Olio su terra
2. From Sicily
3. Un pozzo senz’acqua
4. Taranta Jazz
5. Land Works
6. Aziz
7. Palermo-Madrid
8. Ispanico
9. Dammi tempo che ti buco (Cit. L’acqua)


Luca Aletta – piano
Flavio Emanuele Costantino Burtone – classical guitar

New CD – 2022 – Buy from here

Luca Aletta & Flavio Emanuele Costantino Burtone

Verified by MonsterInsights