June 19, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Miles Electric Band – M.E.B. – That You Not Dare To Forget – 2023: Video, CD cover

That You Not Dare To Forget by M.E.B. (formerly Miles Electric Band) led by Vince Wilburn, Jr. collects a progressive all-star ensemble featuring Miles Davis alumni and the players Miles inspired.

This brand new, never-released studio recording captures a multi-generational who’s who of acclaimed artists performing new Miles-inspired compositions. Two tracks of the five on the album include unreleased trumpet performances by Miles and the album, produced by Miles’ alumni Lenny White and Wilburn, features music legends including Ron Carter, Marcus Miller, Stanley Clarke, Donald Harrison, Darryl Jones, Vernon Reid and John Scofield. This album is dedicated to the memory of Wallace Roney and Bernard Wright and contains some of their final recordings. The cover is an original painting from artist and Miles’ associate Mikel Elam.

With a remarkable fusion of old and new, M.E.B.’s album, That You Not Dare To Forget, is a delightful homage to the timeless legacy of Miles Davis. Led by Vince Wilburn, Jr., M.E.B (formerly known as “Miles Electric Band”) brings together an all-star ensemble of Miles Davis alumni and musicians inspired by the iconic trumpeter. This never-before-released studio recording presents a diverse array of artists performing both new compositions inspired by Miles and two tracks featuring previously unreleased trumpet performances by the legend himself.

Co-produced by Lenny White, who played on the revolutionary Bitches Brew sessions, and Vince Wilburn Jr., known for his work on Man with the Horn, Aura, Human Nature, and You’re Under Arrest, the album showcases a unique mix-and-match approach. Each of the five tracks features a different lineup of musicians, offering listeners an eclectic and refreshing experience.

On “Hail To The Real Chief,” Miles’ iconic muted trumpet is brilliantly complemented by Marcus Miller’s funky bass, John Scofield’s guitar, and the rhythmic talents of both White and Wilburn. The call-and-response between Davis and the band in the latter part of the track is truly captivating.

With soulful synths and Donald Harrison’s alto sax, “Ove My Shoulder” is a strutting number enriched by Vernon Reid’s electrifying guitar work.

The album successfully bridges two generations of musicians: Davis’ contemporaries and the next generation of all-stars. Assembled by Emmy and Grammy Award-winning producer/drummer Vince Wilburn Jr., this rotating ensemble of master musicians is dedicated to pushing the boundaries of music while honoring the classics.

That You Not Dare To Forget is a testament to the enduring influence of Miles Davis. It caters to fans of his later work, as well as those who appreciate groove-based jazz with a touch of hip-hop, highlighting the exceptional blend of generations and styles featured on M.E.B.’s latest album.

1. Hail To The Real Chief (Long Version)
2. Bitches Are Back (feat. Blu)
3. Over My Shoulder (feat. Vernon Reid & Adrien Lamont)
4. Mellow Kisses
5. That You Not Dare To Forget

Lenny White (drums, synthesizers)
Vince Wilburn, Jr. (drums)
Marcus Miller (bass)
Emilio Modeste (tenor saxophone)
Jeremy Pelt (trumpet)
Antoine Roney (tenor saxophone)
Vernon Reid (guitar)
John Scofield (guitar)
Bernard Wright (keyboards)
Quintin Zoto (guitar)
Ron Carter (double bass)
Stanley Clarke (bass)
Donald Harrison (alto sax)
Darryl Jones (bass)
Rashae Reeves (voice)
Adrien Lamont (voice)
Blu (voice)

M.E.B. - That You Not Dare To Forget CD | Shop the Miles Davis Official Store

Verified by MonsterInsights