May 22, 2024

Website about Jazz and Blues

The Blues Foundation announces 2024 Blues music Awards winners: Videos, Photos

he Blues Foundation announced the winners of the 45th Annual Blues Music Awards on May 9 in Memphis.

Guitarist Christone “Kingfish” Ingram, the night’s biggest winner, took home four awards including “Album of the Year” for Live in London. Bobby Rush, Mike Zito, Ruthie Foster, and John Primer all received multiple awards as well.

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners!

Full list of winners below:

Acoustic Album
Wild Ox Moan, Catfish Keith
Raw Blues 1, Doug MacLeod (Winner)
Sticks & Strings, EG Kight
Ridin’ the Blinds, Hudspeth & Taylor
Ghost Hymns, William Lee Ellis

Acoustic Artist
Catfish Keith
Doug MacLeod
Eric Bibb
Keb’ Mo’ (Winner)
Kevin Burt

Album of the Year
Live In London, Christone “Kingfish” Ingram (Winner)
SoulFunkn’BLUES, Blackburn Brothers
Soul Side of Sipp, Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman)
Get Your Back Into It!, Nick Moss Band Featuring Dennis Gruenling

B.B. King Entertainer of the Year
Beth Hart
Bobby Rush (Winner)
Lil’ Ed Williams
Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman)
Vanessa Collier

Band of the Year
Larkin Poe
Nick Moss Band (Winner)
Selwyn Birchwood Band
Southern Avenue
Tedeschi Trucks Band

Best Emerging Artist Album
When the Levee Breaks: The Music of Memphis Minnie, Candice Ivory
The Right Man, D.K. Harrell (Winner)
Up Next, Mathias Lattin
Everybody’s Buddy, Nic Clark
Tony Holiday, Mississippi Motel

Blues Rock Album
POWER, Anna Popovic
Writing On The Wall, Coco Montoya
Blues Deluxe Vol. 2, Joe Bonamassa
Blood Brothers, Mike Zito/ Albert Castiglia (Winner)
What Key Is Trouble In?, Nick Schnebelen

Blues Rock Artist
Ana Popovic
Joe Bonamassa
Kenny Wayne Shepard
Mike Zito (Winner)
Warren Haynes

Contemporary Blues Album
Live In London, Christone “Kingfish” Ingram (Winner)
Ridin’, Eric Bibb
Behind The Veil, Jason Ricci and the Bad Kind
Healing Time, Ruthie Foster
Exorcist, Selwyn Birchwood

Contemporary Blues Female Artist
Carolyn Wonderland
Danielle Nicole (Winner)
Janiva Magness
Teresa James
Vanessa Collier

Contemporary Blues Male Artist
Chris Cain
Christone “Kingfish” Ingram (Winner)
Marquise Knox
Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman)
Selwyn Birchwood

Instrumentalist – Bass
Bob Stroger (Winner)
Larry Fulcher
Michael “Mudcat” Ward
Rodrigo Mantovani
Willie Weeks

Instrumentalist – Drums
Derrick D’Mar Martin
June Core
Kenny “Beedy Eyes” Smith (Winner)
Tom Hambridge
Tony Braunagel

Instrumentalist – Guitar
Christoffer “Kid” Andersen
Christone “Kingfish” Ingram (Winner)
Derek Trucks
Laura Chavez
Sue Foley

Instrumentalist – Harmonica
Billy Branch
Bob Corritore
Dennis Gruenling
Jason Ricci (Winner)
Kim Wilson

Instrumentalist – Horn
Deanna Bogart
Jimmy Carpenter
Mark Kaz Kazanoff
Trombone Shorty
Vanessa Collier (Winner)

Instrumentalist – Pinetop Perkins Piano Player
Ben Levin
Dave Keyes
Jim Pugh
Kenny “Blues Boss” Wayne (Winner)
Mitch Woods

Instrumentalist – Vocals
Billy Price
Diunna Greenleaf
John Nemeth
Ruthie Foster (Winner)
Shemekia Copeland

Song of the Year
“Bobby’s Blues” performed by the Blackburn Brothers,
written by Brooke Blackburn
“Horns Below Her Halo” performed by Selwyn Birchwood,
written by Selwyn Birchwood
“Midnight Heat” performed by Christone “Kingfish” Ingram,
written by Tom Hambridge & Richard Fleming
“The Bait In the Snare” performed by Nick Moss Band featuring Dennis Gruenling,
written by Nick Moss
“What Kind Of Fool” performed by Ruthie Foster,
written by Ruthie Foster, Hadden Sayers & Scottie Miller (Winner)

Soul Blues Album
Stuff I’ve Been Through, Alabama Mike
SoulFunkin’ BLUES, Blackburn Brothers
All My Love For You, Bobby Rush (Winner)
Walking Heart Attack, Johnny Rawls
Soul Side of Sipp, Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman)

Soul Blues Female Artist
Annika Chambers (Winner)
Kat Riggins
Terri Odabi
Thornetta Davis
Trudy Lynn

Soul Blues Male Artist
Alabama Mike
Billy Price
John Nemeth (Winner)
Johnny Rawls
William Bell

Traditional Blues Album
Nothing But Time, Monster Mike Welch
Get Your Back Into It!, Nick Moss Band Featuring Dennis Gruenling
Savoy, Taj Mahal
Oscar’s Motel, The Cash Box Kings

Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female Artist)
Diunna Greenleaf
Rhiannon Giddens
Shaun Murphy
Sue Foley (Winner)
Teeny Tucker

Teeny Tucker performs during the 45th Annual Blues Music Awards at the Renasant Convention Center in Memphis on May 9, 2024.
Traditional Blues Male Artist
Billy Branch
Cedric Burnside
John Primer (Winner)
Jontavious Willis
Nick Moss

Verified by MonsterInsights