July 13, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Louis Hayes – Artform Revisited – 2024: Video, CD cover

NEA Jazz Master Louis Hayes certainly personifies the term “living history.” Born in Detroit, Hayes packed up his drum set and caught a train east, arriving in New York City in 1956 to join the Horace Silver Quintet.

In 1959 he joined the Cannonball Adderley band, finding himself, in his early 20s, at the nerve center of the jazz world. He would visit John Coltrane in his apartment and was to make several justly famous recordings with him. Over the next 60 years Hayes amassed a impressively great body of work, playing and recording with Oscar Peterson, Dexter Gordon, Grant Green, Kenny Burrell, Cedar Walton, Sonny Rollins, Woody Shaw and many more of the giants of modern music.

His latest recording on Savant, Artform Revisited, may fondly recall some of Hayes’ old friends, but it also stands on the summit of today’s finest post bebop sessions. Surrounded by his recording band of choice, Hayes’ vibrant and colorful drumming supports a carefully chosen set list.

Two new compositions by Hayes are featured along with some Charlie Parker tunes, the John Lewis version of “Milestones” and the beautiful but seldom-heard Bobby Troup ballad, “You’re Looking at Me.” Through it all, Hayes proves himself not just a great drummer, but also a gifted and charismatic leader, inspiring his players to give their best and delivering performances born of his vast experience and the mutual respect of all those concerned.

1. Tour de Force 5:29
2. Milestones 4:05
3. My Little Suede Shoes 5:21
4. You’re Looking at Me 5:51
5. Ruby 5:42
6. Cheryl 3:35
7. Ray’s Idea 5:20
8. A Flower Is a Lovesome Thing 4:24
9. Dewey Square 6:06
10. G 4:36

Louis Hayes: drums
Abraham Burton: tenor saxophone (except track 8)
Steve Nelson: vibraphone (except track 4)
David Hazeltine: piano
Dezron Douglas: bass

Louis Hayes: Artform Revisited – Proper Music

Verified by MonsterInsights