June 13, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

Chuck Israels Jazz Orchestra – Concerto Peligroso 2017: Video

Chuck Israels Jazz Orchestra with guest soloist Dan Faehnle head into Crossroads Studios to record a new album for Dot Time Records called “Concerto Peligroso”.

Chuck’s exquisite and sensitive compositions, including the spectacular mini-concerto for piano “Concerto Peligrosso”, will make up the majority of the tracks on the new record. Other highlights will include his arrangement of a beautiful American folk song “All the Pretty Horses”, and a tribute to Sonny Rollins called “Sound of Sonny” based on the saxophone colossus’ solo on the tune “Toot, Toot, Tootsie, Goodbye”.

Chuck Israels is a composer/arranger/bassist who has worked with Billie Holiday, Benny Goodman, Coleman Hawkins, Stan Getz, Herbie Hancock, J.J. Johnson, John Coltrane, and many others. He is best known for his work with the Bill Evans Trio from 1961 through 1966 and for his pioneering accomplishments in Jazz Repertory as Director of the National Jazz Ensemble from 1973 to 1981.

Among Chuck’s many recordings as a bassist, some outstanding ones include: Coltrane Time, with John Coltrane; My Point of View, with Herbie Hancock; Getz au Go-Go, with Stan Getz; and many recordings with the Bill Evans Trio, including The Town Hall Concert; The Second Trio; Trio ’65; Live at the Trident; Time Remembered; and Live at Shelley’s Manne Hole.

Recently retired from directing the jazz studies program at Western Washington University, Chuck has moved to Portland, OR to work in its vibrant jazz community and participate in his favorite Northwest city’s cultural life.

  1. Margot’s Mood (7:16)
  2. Two Degrees East, Three Degrees West (8:06)
  3. Fractal Shadows (5:50)
  4. Concerto Peligroso (4:45)
  5. Delicate Balance (7:28)
  6. All The Pretty Horses (5:53)
  7. The Sound of Sonny (6:45)
  8. Dark Tapestry (4:42)
  9. Frankie and Johnny (7:03)
  10. Swingin’ For The Fences (7:09)
  11. Monk’s Dream (7:55)

Free download

Картинки по запросу Chuck Israels Jazz Orchestra

Verified by MonsterInsights