May 21, 2024

Website about Jazz and Blues

Jan Prax Quartet – Ascending 2018: Video

‘Ascending’ is the artistic vision of Jan Prax (alto & soprano saxophones, composition, band leader), with influences from the Straight Ahead Jazz of the 1950s and 1960s, the avant-garde movement of the 1960, Hip Hop as well as Rhythm and Blues.

As with the previous production ‘Keepin’ a Style Alive’ (ACT), this recording focuses on the acoustic jazz quartet with outstanding partners such as Martin Soros (piano & Fender Rhodes, composition), Tilman Oberbeck (double bass) and Michael Mischl (drums), this time with a line-up extended by high profile guests Bodek Janke (tabla & percussion) and Soweto Kinch (rap & alto saxophone).

Jan Prax began his musical education at the age of three at the piano, winning numerous prizes as a classical pianist. During his youth his interest in jazz saxophone grew rapidly and he was awarded the grant for highly talented students of the Badisches Konservatorium. He studied under Laszlo Wolpert, Peter Lehel and gained his bachelor’s degree with honours under professor Klaus Graf. He is now studying for his master’s degree in Munich.

1 It’s Time for 6!
2 This Song Is for You
3 Catchin’ the Trane
4 Ascending
5 Lift up Your Soul
6 Lost in Memories
7 There It Is
8 Nowhere to Go
9 Money Mike
10 Lift up Your Soul (Radio Edit)

Free regular download

Картинки по запросу Jan Prax Quartet - Ascending

Verified by MonsterInsights