June 24, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

Søren Sko & Benjamin Koppel – On Cole 2018: Video

When the two of Danish musical life, largest profiles turns the scraps together on their common passion for jazzcrooner no #1 Nat King Coles music, that really breathed new life into the old classics.

The Danish singer Søren Shoes have, ever since the now legendary duo Shoes & Torp debuted in 1989, has been an indispensable part of the Danish music scene, centrally located as one of the country’s finest singers. The saxophonist Benjamin Koppel released his debut album as just 18-year-old in 1993, have since played with all the biggest international jazzstjerner, released nearly 50 records in his own name and received a myriad of prices and hædersbevis. And together, they have two – with the help of three of Scandinavia’s best jazz musicians – where their very own heart warming, honest and engaging take on a stripe of the songs, which jazzhistoriens most soulfulde crooner, Nat King Cole had in his repertoire. Richard and Benjamin have carefully selected the classics – and is also quite intentionally gone without on some the perhaps most obvious, the most hackneyed. The result is quite unique, with His raw and unpolished rockstemme and Benjamin’s melodic surplus saxophone in the centre. The two stjernesolister will be accompanied by the icelandic pianist Eythor Gunnarsson, anchorman in the legendary fusion band Mezzoforte; the Danish verdensbassist Jesper Bodilsen, known from topjazz contexts such as Ed Thigpen and Joe Lovano; and denmark’s perhaps greatest jazz drumming, Morten Lund. The result is a wonderfully attractive sheet, with calm, a wry smile and full of flirt. A jazzplade that hits just so broad and popular, which it can measure itself on the international jazzscene.

  1. I Was a Little Too Lonely
  2. I Wish You Love
  3. Sweet Lorraine
  4. A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square
  5. When I Take My Sugar to Tea
  6. Let There Be Love
  7. Looking Back
  8. Walkin’ My Baby Back Home
  9. L-O-V-E
  10. This Can’t Be Love
  11. Straighten up and Fly Right
  12. What’ll I Do?

Free regular download

Картинки по запросу Søren Sko & Benjamin Koppel - On Cole

Verified by MonsterInsights