June 14, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

Grammy Winner – John McLaughlin “Live in San Francisco” featuring Jimmy Herring out today: Video

Abstract Logix issues Live in San Francisco – a souvenir of a sold-out concert at the historic Warfield Theatre, a beloved venue last visited by John McLaughlin thirty six years ago.
On his 25 date farewell tour of America, John invited one his favorite musicians, guitarist Jimmy Herring and his band “The Invisible Whip” to explore the timeless music he had created four decades ago.   Listen to an exclusive premiere of the most covered Mahavishnu song and long time fan favorite, “Eternity’s Breath,” at Guitar World.
“This recording of the final set at the Warfield Theatre brings to full circle the amazing advent of The Mahavishnu Orchestra in 1971, and its renaissance this night in San Francisco,” said McLaughlin.
Herring adds, “This being John’s final tour of the US gives it historical significance… We are all so happy this record was made and so honored to be a part of it!”
Joining McLaughlin is his longtime band, the 4th Dimension – featuring Ranjit Barot (drums, konokol), Gary Husband (keyboards, drums), and Etienne M’Bappé (bass). The Invisible Whip band features Kevin Scott (Bass), Matt Slocum (Clavinet and B3), Jason Crosby (Fender Rhodes, Violin, Vocals) and Jeff Sipe (Drums).  The Meeting of the Spirits tour featured a 9-piece orchestra that further amplified the seminal music he created in the 70’s, documented in albums – “Birds of Fire”, “Inner Mountain Flame” and “Visions of Emerald Beyond”.
So connected are the nine members that the interplay approaches telepathic levels, making for powerfully evocative performances without any wasted gestures. Longtime fans will be thrilled to hear favorites like “Eternity’s Breath” (from Mahavishnu’s 1973 Visions of Emerald Beyond) and “Trilogy” (from 1973’s Between Nothingness And Eternity) reexamined through the lens of both the bands’ unparalleled sensitivity and astounding power.
As such, Live in San Francisco offers a tantalizing document of the Meeting of the Spirits Tour. “Playing these timeless compositions with John and The Fourth Dimension was a life changing experience!” said Jimmy Herring.
The cover art for the project was created by California artist,  Marq Spusta  who is well  known for his distinct illustrative style and multiple iconic posters and designs for a variety of artists  including Widespread Panic, The Black Crowes, Tom Petty, The Fillmore (West) and others.
Press Quote: “An inspired, inspiring pairing of two exhilarating artists and their equally dynamic bands, showcasing a Mahavishnu catalog that proves as radiant and robust as ever.” – Relix Magazine
John McLaughlin’s famous name “Fire Birds” also performed music “John McLaughlin and Jimmy Herring co-starred” Live In San Francisco “. Prior to Japan’s release! From the concert held at the Warfield Theater in San Francisco on December 8, 2017, the Mahavishnu Orchestra written by John McLaughlin (scheduled to include the third set featuring the songs of Mahavishnu Orchestra era). Work co-starring John McLaughlin and the 4th Dimension and Jimmy Herring with The Invisible Whip.
“Live in San Francisco” Track Listing:

1 Meeting of the Spirits 8:53
2 Birds of Fire 7:50
3 A Lotus on Irish Streams 7:13
4 The Dance of Maya 10:09
5 Trilogy 13:01
6 Earth Ship 8:59
7 Eternity’s Breath Part 1 & 2 9:39
8 Be Happy 7:05


Verified by MonsterInsights