May 24, 2024

Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Cuong Vu 4-tet – Change In The Air 2018: Video, Cover

As a followup to 2017’s acclaimed Ballet: The Music of Michael Gibbs, Seattle-based trumpeter Cuong Vu joins forces once again with guitar great Bill Frisell, bassist Luke Bergman and drummer Ted Poor on the boundary-pushing quartet outing for RareNoise Records, Change in the Air.

With all the members of the quartet contributing compositions, this one finds the four participants on equal footing on ten adventurous originals. From Poor’s dreamy, noirish opener “All That’s Left of Me Is You” and his lonesome echo-laden waltz “Alive” to Bergman’s dynamic “Must Concentrate,” Frisell’s delicate “Look, Listen” and his beguiling heartland melody “Long Ago” and Vu’s angular “Round and Round” and his edgy and electrified “March of the Owl and the Bat,” these four stellar musicians are truly on one accord and dealing with a rare level of nuance and depth of communication on Change in the Air.

01. All That’s Left Of Me Is You (03:53)
02. Alive (08:59)
03. Look, Listen (03:05)
04. Must Concentrate (04:43)
05. Lately (06:16)
06. Round And Round (04:49)
07. March Of The Owl And The Bat (05:11)
08. Round And Roung (Back Around) (04:12)
09. Long Ago (04:22)
10. Far From Here (07:02)

Rarenoise Records:

Free regular download

Image result for Cuong Vu 4-tet - Change In The Air

Verified by MonsterInsights