June 20, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

Denys Baptiste, Ian Shaw and others among Parliamentary Jazz Award winners: Photos, Video

The winners of the 14th annual Parliamentary Jazz Awards took place on Tuesday 16 October, at PizzaExpress Live’s Holborn venue, with the wide-range recipients reflecting the depth and diversity of the British jazz scene.

Compéred by PizzaExpress Live’s music manager Ross Dines, the winners included singer Ian Shaw for Jazz Vocalist of the Year; Indo-jazz clarinettist Arun Ghosh took home the prize for Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year and resurgent tenorist Denys Baptiste scooped Jazz Album of the Year for his acclaimed John Coltrane-inspired LP, The Late Trane.

Further winners included the bass-led Alison Rayner Quintet who won Jazz Ensemble of the Year; young guitarist Shirley Tetteh was awarded Jazz Newcomer of the Year; Sheffield jazz venue Jazz At The Lescarwon Jazz Venue of the Year and long-running jazz blog, Bebop Spoken Here, took home the Jazz Media Award.

The Jazz Education Award was presented to expat saxophonist Jean Toussaint; Glasgow Jazz Festival director Jill Rodger was awarded the Services to Jazz Award and the Special APPJAG Award was presented to bassist, Tomorrow’s Warriors and Dune Records founder Gary Crosby OBE. Award presenters on the night included British politicians and UK jazz names including co-chairs of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group, Kelvin Hopkins MP and Lord Colwyn; Elaine Delmar, Jon Newey, Deirdre Cartwright, Sarah Champion MP, Chi Onwurah MP, Ian Shaw, Saad Gantar and Baroness Coussins. Live music at the ceremony came from a band comprised of Max Brittain, Alison Rayner, Henry Lowther, Fraser Smith and Sophie Alloway.

The full list of recipients is as follows:

Jazz Vocalist of the Year: Ian Shaw

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year: Arun Ghosh

Jazz Album of the Year: Denys Baptiste – The Late Trane

Jazz Ensemble of the Year: ARQ – Alison Rayner Quintet

Jazz Newcomer of the Year: Shirley Tetteh

Jazz Venue of the Year: Jazz At The Lescar in Sheffield

Jazz Media Award: Lance Liddle – Bebop Spoken Here

Jazz Education Award: Jean Toussaint

Services to Jazz Award: Jill Rodger

Special APPJAG Award: Gary Crosby OBE

Verified by MonsterInsights