July 13, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Van Morrison – The Prophet Speaks 2018: Video

Sir Van Morrison has confirmed that his 40th studio album will be released in December – it’s his second this year and again he’s working with the acclaimed jazz organist and trumpeter Joey De Francesco.

The new project is called ‘The Prophet Speaks’ and will feature six original compositions from the pair alongside covers written by Sam Cooke, John Lee Hooker, Solomon Burke and more. At the age of 73, he told Jazz FM: “It was important for me to get back to recording new music as well as doing some of the blues material that has inspired me from the beginning. Writing songs and making music is what I do, and working with great musicians makes it all the more enjoyable.”

The track listing is as follows, with the lead single ‘Got to go where love is’ out now…

1.    Gonna Send You Back To Where I Got You From (Eddie “Cleanhead” Vinson, Leona Blackman)
2.    Dimples (John Lee Hooker, James Bracken)
3.    Got to Go Where The Love Is (Van Morrison)
4.    Laughin’ and Clownin’ (Sam Cooke)
5.    5 am Greenwich Mean Time (Van Morrison)
6.    Gotta Get You Off My Mind (Solomon Burke, Delores Burke, Josephine Burke Moore)
7.    Teardrops (J.D. Harris)
8.    I Love The Life I Live (Willie Dixon)
9.    Worried Blues / Rollin’ and Tumblin’ (J.D. Harris)
10.    Ain’t Gonna Moan No More (Van Morrison)
11.    Love Is A Five Letter Word (Gene Barge)
12.    Love Is Hard Work (Van Morrison)
13.    Spirit Will Provide (Van Morrison)
14.    The Prophet Speaks (Van Morrison)

Verified by MonsterInsights