May 18, 2024

Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Jeff Davis – The Fastness 2019: Video, CD covers

Drummer/composer Jeff Davis is known as the “propulsive force behind a host New York mainstays” (Matthew Miller – All About Jazz), including Kirk Knuffke, Robin Verheyen, Anna Webber, Jesse Stacken, and Michael Bates. 

A mainstay and in-demand drummer on the creative NYC music scene for nearly two decades, Jeff Davis is a passionate poet at the drum set.  A powerful improviser and compelling composer, Davis has contributed as a sideman to a great number of important music projects, in addition to successfully leading his own bandsOn his most recent trio album, Leaf House, Jeff Davis showcases his command of a deeply focused and distinctly improvisational style.  Troy Collins (All About Jazz) says that “like many of his generation, his writing encompasses a number of genres, yet Davis understands the importance of creating a context for such diversity. Sequencing individual tunes into a suite-like program, the set unfolds episodically, seamlessly blending divergent moods.”  And Bruce Lee Gallanter, of the Downtown Music Gallery, described Jeff Davis’ first disc as a leader as “a powerful debut from one of Downtown’s best drummers.” Davis has performed with such artists as Tony Malaby, Chris Speed, Ralph Alessi, Ben Monder, Marc Ducret, Mark Helias, and Cameron Brown.  Jeff Davis has performed at several prominent jazz festivals, including the North Sea Jazz Festival, Oslo Jazz Festival, the Gent Jazz Festival, the Vancouver Jazz Festival, and the Ear Shot Jazz Festival.  Jeff leads several ensembles, including the Jeff Davis Trio (featuring Russ Lossing and Eivind Opsvik), Tone Collector (Tony Malaby and Eivind Opsvik), and the Jeff Davis Band (featuring Jason Rigby, Jon Goldberger, Russ Lossing and Eivind Opsvik). Davis also recently released a Live Album on Fresh Sound New Talent Records, Dragon Father, featuring Kirk Knuffke, Oscar Noriega, Russ Lossing and Eivind Opsvik.

01. Prelude
02. Go Away Glasses
03. Obvious Nemesis
04. Leah’s One
05. Wednesday Shirt
06. Bird Monkey
07. Two Ones
08. Lothlorien
09. New Good Brother
10. Mountains, Mountains, Water
11. The Fastness

Jeff Davis (drums, vibes), Tony Malaby (tenor & soprano sax), Russ Lossing (piano, Fender Rhodes, Hammond B3), Jonathan Goldberger (guitar), Eivind Opsvik (bass).

Image result for Jeff Davis - The Fastness"

Image result for Jeff Davis - The Fastness"

Verified by MonsterInsights