May 20, 2024

Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Phil Sheeran – Stepping Stones (Solo Guitar Pieces) 2020: Video, CD cover

“It’s been meaningful to look back at all the Stepping Stones throughout my career” says Sheeran. This is his 9th and most intimate CD released. It features over an hour of beautifully written and performed guitar music selected from Phil’s 8 CDs and also includes pieces from his television/multimedia projects and new, unreleased recordings.

Special Edition CD available – featuring 5 additional bonus tracks only available on the CD version.

Phil Sheeran established himself as a guitarist and composer with multiple internationally released CDs and now adding a 9th CD release “Stepping Stones – 22 Guitar Pieces”. Phil’s previous internationally released CDs include “Breaking Through”, “Standing on Fishes”, “It’s A Good Thing”, “Orchid”, “The Marc Anthony Latin Guitar Tribute” and two holiday albums, “I’ll Be Home For Christmas” and “The First Noel”. He also has a live recorded CD “Live Japan, Alone Together” with Leon Bisquera (piano). Recorded singles include “Classical Gas” “Look of Love” and “Feels Like Rain” featuring jazz vocalist Ron Boustead.

Phil’s albums have hit #17 on Billboard’s Contemporary Jazz and charted top 5 nationally for air play on Contemporary Jazz and New Adult Contemporary stations. Phil has performed on the same bill as the Rippingtons, David Benoit, Richard Elliott, Michael Tomlinson, and Danny O’Keefe and has recorded with such artists as Gregg Karukas, Eric Marianthal, Michael Gettel, Steve Kujula, Luis Conte, Andy Narell, Eric Tagg, Brandon Fields, Harvey Mason, and Will Kennedy just to name a few.

Besides playing jazz guitar Phil currently teaches at Berklee Music Online. He composes and produces music used in TV and multi-media, encompassing a fusion of orchestral and world music elements with guitar. In 2012 Phil authored and published the online class for Berklee Music Online “World Music Compositional Styles”. Phil’s educational background is in jazz, classical and Brazilian music. He graduated from the prestigious Cornish Institute of the Arts with a BFA in music, Jazz Composition and Performance. He studied with guitarist Ralph Towner and in Brazil with Romero Lubambo. Phil signed with Sonic Edge Records of Los Angeles, California in 1990 and released his first two albums for that label “Breaking Through” and “Standing on Fishes” in 1990-91 and charted #4 NAC Contemporary Jazz Radio. Phil was nominated by NAMA (Northwest Area Music Assn.) both in 1991 & 1992 for Best Jazz Artist, Best Jazz Recording and Best Electric Guitarist. International releases to date include: Japan, Italy, South Africa and Brazil.

01. Remember Me
02. Mother of Sorrows
03. The Winds of Time
04. Stepping Stones
05. Perfect Day
06. Lullaby
07. Christmas Time Is Sleeping
08. Agape
09. Soul Path
10. Alone Together
11. Ramblin’
12. I’ll Be Home for Christmas
13. Milonga Del Angel
14. Healing
15. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
16. Calm
17. Lovers Reprise

Картинки по запросу "Phil Sheeran - Stepping Stones (Solo Guitar Pieces)"

Verified by MonsterInsights