May 27, 2024

Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Carmen Lundy – Jazz Deluxe 2021: Live full concert video, CD cover

Carmen Lundy began her professional career as a jazz vocalist and composer when there were very few young, gifted and aspiring jazz vocalists on the horizon.

Three decades later, Ms. Lundy is celebrated throughout the world for her vocal artistry and is highly regarded for her jazz innovation. Her contribution of over 60 self-penned compositions now comprises the New Jazz Songbook.

Carmen Lundy’s work as a vocalist and composer has been critically acclaimed by The New York Times, The Village Voice, The Los Angeles Times, The Washington Post, as well as numerous foreign publications. As a composer, Ms. Lundy’s catalogue numbers over sixty published songs, one of the few jazz vocalists in history to accomplish such a distinction, and has led to the first publication of the Carmen Lundy Songbook (2007). Her songs have been recorded by such artists as Kenny Barron (“Quiet Times”), Ernie Watts (“At The End Of My Rope”), and Straight Ahead (“Never Gonna Let You Go”).

“Musicians as diversely gifted as Carmen Lundy, who has excelled as a vocalist, composer, lyricist, arranger, guitarist and keyboardist for more than three decades, remain few and far between.”

01. Showtime (1:25)
02. It Will Be All Right (1:24)
03. White Russian (1:35)
04. Prairie Calm (1:42)
05. Brahms’ Lullaby (1:55)
06. Mandela – Man of Peace (1:24)
07. It’s a New Day (1:49)
08. Carmen’s Blues (2:16)
09. Pamela (2:55)
10. Hush Little Baby (2:21)

Carmen Lundy, vocals, piano
Darryl Hall, bass
Marvin “Smitty” Smith, drums
Andrew Renfroe, guitar


Verified by MonsterInsights