June 21, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Alvin Queen Trio – Night Train To Copenhagen 2021: Video, CD cover

The studio album “Night Train” by the Oscar Peterson Trio was released in 1963 and featured pianist Oscar Peterson in his classic trio with Ray Brown on bass and Ed Thigpen on drums. It is arguably the most successful, popular and acclaimed album of Peterson’s life and career.

The recording sessions took place December 15 & 16, 1962 in Los Angeles under Norman Granz’ supervision. The Penguin Guide to Jazz describes it as “one of the best LPs of the period.” The album was named as the jury winner of the Polaris Heritage Prize in 2019 and Diana Krall reported that listening to the album sparked her ambition of  becoming a jazz pianist. Tonight’s leader, Alvin Queen, is a legend in his own right. For many years, he was the drummer in Oscar Peterson’s final group before the latter’s passing in 2007.

  1. Have You Met Miss Jones? (3:44)
  2. Bags Groove (3:31)
  3. I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good) (4:17)
  4. Farewell Song (2:39)
  5. Quiet Nights Of Quiet Stars (Corcovado) (3:03)
  6. The Days Of Wine And Roses (2:39)
  7. Goodbye JD (3:33)
  8. Tranquility In The Woods (I skovens dybe stille ro) (2:19)
  9. D & E (3:15)
  10. Georgia On My Mind (4:49)
  11. Night Train (4:16)
  12. C Jam Blues (3:06)
  13. People (3:43)
  14. Moten Swing (3:46)
  15. Some Other Time (3:45)

Piano – Calle Brickman

Drummer – Alvin Queen

Bass – Tobias Dall Mikkelsen

Night Train to Copenhagen | HIGHRESAUDIO

Verified by MonsterInsights