June 13, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

CD review: Bill Evans – Morning Glory: The 1973 Concert At The Teatro Gran Rex, Buenos Aires 2022: Video, CD cover

Morning Glory: The 1973 Concert at the Teatro Gran Rex, Buenos Aires is the first official release of pianist Bill Evans with Eddie Gomez and Marty Morell captured live at the Teatro Gran Rex in Buenos Aires, Argentina on June 24, 1973.

Remastered from the original concert tape reels and in cooperation with the Bill Evans Estate, this deluxe 2-CD set includes an extensive booklet with rare photos from the actual concert; essays by American author/journalist Marc Myers and Argentine author Claudio Parisi (who wrote the book Grandes del jazz internacional en Argentina (1956-1979)); plus new interviews with Eddie Gomez, Marty Morell and pianist Richie Beirach. This concert recording is available officially for the very first time and is the companion piece to the Resonance Release, Inner Spirit: The 1979 Concert at the Teatro General San Martín Concert, Buenos Aires with Marc Johnson and Joe LaBarbera.

A1. Re: Person I Knew
A2. Emily
A3. Who Can I Turn To?
B1. The Two Lonely People
B2. What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life
B3. My Romance
C1. Morning Glory
C2. Up With The Lark
C3. Twelve Tone Tune
C4. Esta Tarde Vi Llover
D1. Beautiful Love
D2. Waltz For Debby
D3. My Foolish Heart

Piano – Bill Evans
Bass – Eddie Gomez
Drums – Marty Morell

Bill Evans - Morning Glory: The 1973 Concert At The Teatro Gran Rex [2 CD]  - Amazon.com Music

Verified by MonsterInsights