June 14, 2024


Website about Jazz and Blues

Bobo Stenson Trio – Contra La Indecisión 2018: Video, CD cover

The great Swedish trio of Bobo Stenson takes a stand against indecision in a decisively beautiful new album. As ever, the trio draws upon a wide range of source materials.

A yearning title song by Cuban singer-songwriter Silvio Rodríguez, Bartók’s adaptation of a Slovak folk song, a piece from Mompou’s Cançons i Danses collection, and Erik Satie’s Elégie are integrated into the program, alongside original compositions by Stenson and Anders Jormin and group improvising. So strong is the group’s character and the musical identity of each of its members that the integration of this material always feels organic and logical. Stenson’s lyrical touch, Jormin’s folk-flavored arco bass and Jon Fält’s flickering, textural drumming are all well-displayed on Contra la indecisión, the trio’s first new recording in six years. Produced by Manfred Eicher, the album was recorded at Lugano’s Auditorio Stelio Molo RSI studio in May 2017.

  1. Canción Contra La Indecisión (04:12)
  2. Doubt Thou the Stars (07:57)
  3. Wedding Song From Poniky (07:26)
  4. Three Shades of a House (07:11)
  5. Élégie (06:11)
  6. Canción Y Danza VI (05:14)
  7. Alice (06:19)
  8. Oktoberhavet (05:52)
  9. Kalimba Impressions (03:12)
  10. Stilla (04:27)
  11. Hemingway Intonations (06:40)

Image result for Bobo Stenson Trio - Contra La Indecisión

Verified by MonsterInsights